An eighth double of the season for Herlings on Pirelli Tyres

The historic Maggiora sees a ninth GP win in MX2 with the Pirelli Scorpion MX tyres while Cairoli take third in MX1. Jeffrey Herlings and the Pirelli Scorpion MX continued their dominance in the MX2 category of the FIM Motocross World Championship. The Grand Prix of Italy was held at the newly renovated and historic site of the unforgettable 1986 Motocross of Nations for the ninth round of seventeen in the series and saw Herlings maintain his 100% record (eight perfect Grands Prix) using his works KTM fitted with Pirelli Scorpion MX Midsoft 32 both on the front and the rear. Herlings was easily able to pull away from his peers on a track that he admitted he found tricky to handle and rose to the top of the podium again flanked by Spaniard Jose Butron and other Pirelli riders Alex Lupino in third and Jordi Tixier in fourth; the Frenchman also holding second place in the championship standings. MX1 was less clear-cut and witnessed another duel between Gautier Paulin and Antonio Cairoli. Victory went to the Frenchman ahead of the defending champion and class leader riding his works KTM with Pirelli Scorpion MX MidSoft 32, who was however still a main protagonist on home turf and in front of a big crowd as he defied a knee injury to chase down his rival and set up a thrillingly close finale. In the end – with fourth and second on his scorecard – ‘222’had to settle for third overall just behind team-mate Ken de Dycker and keeps a gap of 51 points in the championship over Paulin.Bad luck for former championship runner-up Clement Desalle, who rode his factory Suzuki with Scorpion MX MidSoft 32 to a comprehensive victory in the first moto but had to stop with an electrical problem in the second. The tenth round will take place on 30th of June at Uddevalla for the Grand Prix of Sweden. Grand Prix of Italy, Maggiora: Temperature 28 degrees, Humidity 57% . MX1 Overall Classification:

1. Paulin Gautier Kawasaki Kawasaki Racing Team  
2. Ken De Dycker KTM Team Red Bull Factory  
3. Antonio Cairoli KTM Team Red Bull Factory  
4. Jeremy Van Horebeek Kawasaki Kawasaki Racing Team  
5. Max Nagl Honda Team World Motocross  

MX1 Championship standings (after 9 rounds):

1. Antonio Cairoli KTM p. 417  
2. Gautier Paulin Kawasaki p. 366  
3. Clement Desalle Suzuki p. 334  
4. Ken De Dycker KTM p. 319  
5. Kevin Strijbos Suzuki p. 271  

MX2 Overall Classification:

1. Jeffrey Herlings KTM Team Red Bull Factory  
2. José Butron KTM Team KTM Silver Action  
3. Alex Lupino Kawasaki Team CLS  
4. Jordi Tixier KTM Team Red Bull Factory  
5. Jake Nicholls KTM Team Wilvo Nestaan  

MX2 Championship standings (after 9 rounds):

1. Jeffrey Herlings KTM p. 447  
2. Jordi Tixier KTM p. 323  
3. José Butron KTM p. 285  
4. Christophe Charlier Yamaha p. 261  
5. Glenn Coldenhoff KTM p. 260