Cairoli and Pirelli close to the title

The MX1 series leader finishes second to Desalle in Belgium and can be champion with one round remaining The duel played out on the sandy circuit of Bastogne for the Grand Prix of Belgium fell in the favour of Clement Desalle who walked the top step of the podium over MX1 series leader Antonio Cairoli. It was an emotional and important victory for the Suzuki rider competing with      Pirelli Scorpion MX MidSoft 32F front and Scorpion MX MidSoft 32 rear, like his Sicilian rival who with similar results managed to maintain his lead of 90 points in the standings with two rounds left to run. In the first moto the Belgian suffered a small crash on the last lap while pushing to threaten Cairoli and had to settle for runner-up knowing he still had a chance of the overall in the second moto. Desalle’s game plan for race two worked as he attacked Cairoli on the second corner and proceeded to control the pace until its satisfactory conclusion. In front of a passionate home crowd Kevin Strijbos and Ken De Dycker secured fourth and sixth positions respectively. MX2 World Champion on Pirelli tyres with three rounds to spare, Jeffrey Herlings, was ruled out of the Grand Prix after a crash and shoulder injury on Saturday that ruined his ambition of winning every race of the 2013 campaign. The Dutchman had owned all fourteen events prior to Bastogne. A protagonist in the category was Herlings’ team-mate Jordi Tixier, who in spite of goggle problems in both motos, was still able to finish second overall and ahead of fellow Pirelli racer Glenn Coldenhoff. Both steered their KTMs with Pirelli Scorpion MX MidSoft 32F front and Scorpion MX MidSoft 32 on the rear. Third place in the first moto was works Yamaha rider Christophe Charlier. The Corsican then had to accept sixth position overall after a crash in the second sprint meant he could not cross the line higher than seventh. The Scorpion MX crew return to the track on 25th of August at the British circuit of Matterley Basin for the penultimate round of the FIM Motocross World Championship. Grand Prix of Belgium, Bastogne: Temperature 18°, Humidity 77% MX1 Overall Classification:

1. Clement Desalle Suzuki Team Rockstar Energy
2. Antonio Cairoli KTM Team Red Bull Factory
3. Evgeny Bobryshev Honda Team World Motocross
4. Kevin Strijbos Suzuki Team Rockstar Energy
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek Kawasaki Team KRT

MX1 Championship standings after 15 rounds

1. Antonio Cairoli KTM p. 690
2. Clement Desalle Suzuki p. 600
3. Ken De Dycker KTM p. 542
4. Gautier Paulin Kawasaki p. 485
5. Kevin Strijbos Suzuki p. 469

MX2 Overall Classification:

1. Dean Ferris Yamaha Team Monster Energy
2. Jordi Tixier KTM Team Red Bull Factory
3. Glenn Coldenhoff KTM Team Standing Construct
4. José Butron KTM Team Silver Action
5. Romain Febvre KTM Team JM Racing

MX2 Championship standings after 15 rounds

1. Jeffrey Herlings KTM p. 692
2. Jordi Tixier KTM p. 553
3. José Butron KTM p. 470
4. Christophe Charlier Yamaha p. 439
5. Glenn Coldenhoff KTM p. 412