Double victory for Pirelli at the Grand Prix of Mexico of the FIM Motocross World Championship

Tim Gajser wins both racesin MXGP and takes his lead in the championship to 20 points. MX2 victorybelongs to Thomas Covington as Jeremy Seewer consolidates his leadership in theoverall standings

For the fourth year in a row the Grand Prix of Mexico was hosted by the historic town of Leon located in the Guanajuato state. The track is located in the local park and formed by a clay-like soil that was very wet on Saturday while being harder and drier for the race motos on Sunday. The Pirelli riders faced the terrain equipped by the SCORPION™ MX32™ Mid soft front (in 80 / 100-21 size) and rear (in 110 / 90-19 size); tyres that again proved their versatility and allowed the Italian brand to take victories and fill the podiums of both classes.

MXGP podium

Tim Gajser dominated the MXGP category. Together with his HRC teammate Evgeny Bobryshev, the Slovenian was the only rider to opt for the 120 / 90-19 rear. The reigning champion won the qualification heat and two races to consolidate first position in the championship. Pirelli swept the final podium thanks to Antonio Cairoli’s excellent second place and the third position of Gautier Paulin. Good performance also seen by Jeremy Van Horebeekwho finished the Grand Prix in fifth position.


Tim Gajser action

In MX2 Thomas Covington repeated the victory that he achieved in 2015. The American finished fourth in the first moto and won the second. Jeremy Seewer grabbed a good runner-up position overall and confirmed his lead in the championship in front of Pauls Jonass; the Latvian was fourth in Mexico. Privateer Julien Lieberhad another great race and has finished the Grand Prix in third place.



Thomas Covington action

Mexico represented the last flyaway event in the opening stage of the calendar and in two weeks time the FIM Motocross World Championship will be back to Europe for the Grand Prix of Trentino which will be hosted at the Pietramurata track in Italy.



Tim Gajser on the podiumTim Gajser in action

Race results (in bold the Pirelli riders): MXGP race 1 1. GAJSER Tim (SLO) 2. BOBRYSHEV Evgeny (RUS) 3. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) 4. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) 5. VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy (BEL) MXGP race 2 1. GAJSER Tim (SLO) 2. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) 3. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) 4. TONUS Arnaud (SUI) 5. VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy (BEL) MX2 race 1 1. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) 2. PATUREL Benoit (FRA) 3. LIEBER Julien (BEL) 4. COVINGTON Thomas (USA) 5. JONASS Pauls (LAT) MX2 race 2 1. COVINGTON Thomas (USA) 2. JONASS Pauls (LAT) 3. LIEBER Julien (BEL) 4. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) 5. VAN DONINCK Brent (BEL) GP Overall: MXGP 1. GAJSER Tim (SLO) 2. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) 3. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) 4.TONUS Arnaud (SUI) 5. VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy (BEL) MX2 1. COVINGTON Thomas (USA) 2. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) 3. LIEBER Julien (BEL) 4. JONASS Pauls (LAT) 5. PATUREL Benoit (FRA) Championship overall: MXGP 1. GAJSER Tim (SLO) p.156 2. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) p.136 3. DESALLE Clement (BEL) p.119 4. VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy (BEL) p.116 5. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) p.112 6. BOBRYSHEV Evgeny (RUS) p.111 MX2 1. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) p.153 2. JONASS Pauls (LAT)) p.145 3.PATUREL Benoit (FRA) p.139 4. LIEBER JULIEN (BEL) p.139 5. KJER OLSEN Thomas (DEN) p.127 6. VAN DONINCK Brent (BEL) p.102



Jeremy Seewer in actionJeremy Seewer on the podium



Thomas Covingtonin actionThomas Covington on the podium



MXGP podiumSeewer finish



MXGP startTony Cairoli



MX podiumTim Gajser on the podium