Herlings and Cairoli clinch Dutch GP

Both KTM riders on Pirelli tyres continue their dominance in MX1 and MX2 classes The formbook was duly followed for the third round of the FIM Motocross World Championship as Antonio Cairoli, Jeffrey Herlings and the Pirelli Scorpion MX tyre maintained their authoritative positions across the MX1 and MX2 categories. Made even more tricky by the hard and frozen ground due to the low temperatures across both days of the meeting, the dreaded sand and site of the Dutch GP did not slow the pace of Jeffrey Herlings who literally flew around the bumps and waves of the terrain as the firm favourite for victory extended an unbeaten run at Valkenswaard begun in 2010. Even a poor gate pick could not deter the Dutchman from a third double in a row this season. The home hero, like all Pirelli riders, opted for the trusty combo of Scorpion MX MidSoft 32 front and Scorpion MX Soft 410 rear to face the sand. The selection was used by Herlings’ factory KTM team-mate Jordi Tixier. The Frenchman was runner-up. Glenn Coldenhoff also shone and thanks to his fifth position has now moved up to fourth place in the championship standings. It was another show of strength by Antonio Cairoli in MX1. The World Champion had to settle for second place in the second moto (after having earlier won the first) after arm-pump caused him to check his pace at the beginning of the sprint and Ken De Dycker as able to build an effective lead. The pair had battled in the first moto and the Belgian’s decent day in the sand helped to the runner-up position overall. Fourth spot belonged to Suzuki’s Kevin Strijbos, who bettered team-mate Clement Desalle; the latter was seventh overall after a crash in the first corner of the opening race and then experienced a lack of feeling with the track in the second affair. The fourth round takes place on 14 April at Arco di Trento for the Grand Prix of Italy. Grand Prix of Holland, Valkenswaard track: Temperature 4°, Humidity 51% Overall Classification MX1::

1. Antonio Cairoli KTM Team Red Bull Factory
2. Ken De Dycker KTM Team Red Bull Factory
3. Evgeny Bobryshev Honda Team World Motocross
4. Kevin Strijbos Suzuki Team Rockstar
5. Max Nagl Honda Team World Motocross


MX1 Championship (after 3 rounds):

1. Antonio Cairoli KTM p. 142
2. Clement Desalle Suzuki p. 116
3. Ken De Dycker KTM p. 115
4. Gautier Paulin Kawasaki p. 108
5. Kevin Strijbos Suzuki p. 89


Overall Classification MX2:

1. Jeffrey Herlings KTM Team Red Bull Factory
2. Jordi Tixier KTM Team Red Bull Factory
3. Jake Nicholls KTM Team JM Racing
4. Max Anstie Suzuki Team Rockstar Energy
5. Glenn Coldenhoff KTM Team Standing Construct


MX2 Championship (after 3 rounds):

1. Jeffrey Herlings KTM p. 150
2. Jordi Tixier KTM p. 101
3. Romain Febvre KTM p. 98
4. Glenn Coldenhoff KTM p. 97
5. José Butron KTM p. 74