In Race 2 the Superbike riders confirm the new Pirelli rear solution and Jonathan Rea brings home a double win for Kawasaki. In Supersport the win goes to Swiss rookie Krummenacher

In the second Superbike race almost all the riders choose the U0794 development solution already used by most in Race 1, Kawasaki wins it all with victory in both Superbike races and the Supersport race

On the second race day of the MOTUL FIM World Superbike Championship, held on the Australian Phillip Island circuit, once again Pirelli confirmed the excellent performance demonstrated yesterday during Superbike Race 1, guaranteeing a quite spectacular race in Supersport as well. In Superbike, reigning champion Jonathan Rea confirmed that he is in top form and, after winning Race 1 yesterday, he also took Race 2 today, bringing home a double win for Kawasaki already in the first round of the season. The manufacturer from Akashi can also celebrate in Supersport, where Kawasaki Puccetti Team's Swiss rider Randy Krummenacher making his début in this category, brought home the win on his ZX-6R. In Race 2 it was Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) who got off the line very well from pole position, followed by teammate Jonathan Rea and Davide Giugliano (Aruba.it Racing – Ducati), Michael Van Der Mark (Honda World Superbike Team) and Ducati rider Chaz Davies. In the 13th lap Tom Sykes went wide on a turn, losing three spots and leaving the lead to his teammate, Jonathan Rea who, however, was overtaken on the next lap by Michael Vd Mark for the lead. During the 16th lap Nicky Hayden (Honda World Superbike Team) moved into fourth place, overtaking both Tom Sykes and Davide Giugliano. There was no lack of surprises in the race finale: in the penultimate lap Chaz Davies overtook Van Der Mark and Jonathan Rea, placing himself on the virtual top step of the podium, but at the start of the last lap Jonathan Rea overtook him. In his attempt to take back the race lead, Chaz Davies, who had put in the Best Lap of the race in the fourth lap, crashed out, chucking all of his efforts up to that point in the bin. Northern Irishman Jonathan Rea was the first under the wire, achieving a splendid double win with Michael Van Der Mark behind him, followed by an excellent Davide Giugliano who managed to get past Nicky Hayden in the final turns. Race 2 standings: 1) Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team) 2) Michael Van Der Mark (Honda World Superbike Team) 3) Davide Giugliano (Aruba.it Racing – Ducati) 4) Nicky Hayden (Honda World Superbike Team) 5) Sylvain Guintoli (Pata Yamaha Official WSBK Team) 6) Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) 7) Jordi Torres (Althea BMW Racing Team) 8 ) Michael Reiterberger (Althea BMW Racing Team) 9) Joshua Brookes (Milwaukee BMW) 10) Chaz Davies (Aruba.it Racing – Ducati) The FIM Supersport World Championship race was also quite exciting with various riders taking a turn in the lead. Initially it was a three-way battle between Patrick Jacobsen (Honda World Supersport Team), Anthony West (Tribeca Racing) and Jules Cluzel (MV Agusta Reparto Corse). Jacobsen started off in the lead, but about a third of the way through the race he was overtaken first by Anthony West and later by Jules Cluzel. During the 9th lap Cluzel overtook West for the race lead, but unfortunately, a lap later the Frenchman went straight on, crashing into the barriers. Shortly thereafter, his teammate, Lorenzo Zanetti, also crashed due to contact with another rider. Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) moved into the race lead temporarily, followed in turn by West and Jacobsen. During the 13th lap the red flag came out because of a few drops of rain and in the meantime Randy Krummenacher (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) became more aggressive, moving into second place. Federico Caricasulo (Bardahl Evan Bros. Honda Racing) got the better of Patrick Jacobsen in the 16th lap, moving into fourth place, and the same lap marked the end of the race for Kenan Sofuoglu, who left his teammate, Swiss rookie Randy Krummenacher, the top step of the podium. Crossing the wire behind him were Federico Caricasulo in second and Anthony West, third. Supersport standings: 1) Randy Krummenacher (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) 2) Federico Caricasulo (Bardahl Evan Bros. Honda Racing) 3) Anthony West (Tribeca Racing) 4) Christian Gamarino (Team GoEleven) 5) Patrick Jacobsen (Honda World Supersport Team) 6) Alex Baldolini (Race Department ATK#25) 7) Gino Rea (GRT Racing Team) 8 ) Ondrej Jezek (Team GoEleven) 9) Roberto Rolfo (Team Factory Vamag) 10) Aiden Wagner (GRT Racing Team)


The Pirelli solutions chosen by the riders for Race 2 and Supersport: As had already happened in Race 1, once again in Race 2, despite a temperature increase of almost 10°C, the new rear, the U0794 SC1 development solution, proved to be the winning solution and was chosen by 20 of the 22 riders on the grid, also winning over those riders who had opted for the T1105 in Race 1. Sylvain Barrier and Román Ramos remained faithful to the latter solution. On the front, rider preference was split evenly between the S1699 SC1 development solution and the standard SC2. In Supersport the front solution used in the race by the vast majority was the standard SC1, with only Patrick Jacobsen opting for the standard SC2. For the rear, 2/3 of the riders used the new U1149 SC1 development solution which provided such strong points as its larger size (190/60) and excellent adaptability to high temperatures. The remaining riders used the other SC1 development solution, the U1148. Pirelli statistics for Race 2: • Winner of the PIRELLI BEST LAP AWARD: Chaz Davies (Aruba.it Racing – Ducati),in 1'31.321 in the 4th lap • Most used front solution: S1699 SC1 development as well as standard SC2 (11 out of 22 riders on first option and 11 riders on second option) • Most used rear solution: U0794 SC1 development (20 out of 22 riders) • Maximum race speed reached by Pirelli DIABLO™ Superbike tyres: 319.5 km/h, achieved by Jordi Torres (Althea BMW Racing Team) in the 2nd lap • Number of solutions (dry, intermediate and wet) for the Superbike class: 4 front and 6 rear Number of tyres available for each Superbike rider: 62, including 29 front and 33 rear • Air temperature: 22° C • Asphalt temperature: 41° C Pirelli statistics for Supersport: • Winner of the PIRELLI BEST LAP AWARD: Lorenzo Zanetti (MV Agusta Reparto Corse),in 1'34.152 in the 7th lap • Most used front solution: Standard SC1 (25 out of 26 riders) • Most used rear solution: U1149 SC1 development (17 out of 26 riders) • Maximum race speed reached by Pirelli DIABLO™ Superbike tyres: 281.3 km/h, achieved by Lorenzo Zanetti (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) in the 5th lap and by Federico Caricasulo (Bardahl Evan Bros. Honda Racing) in the 13th lap • Number of solutions (dry, intermediate and wet) for the Superbike class: 4 front and 5 rear Number of tyres available for each Superbike rider: 50, including 24 front and 26 rear • Air temperature: 20° C • Asphalt temperature: 35° C