In the Grand Prix of Thailand the Pirelli SCORPION™ MX32™ win against the heat and the high humidity.

Pirelli leads MXGP with Desalle and MX2 with Herlings

A week after launching in the desert of Qatar, the 2015 FIM Motocross World Championship moved into the heart of the Asian continent for the second round of eighteen; the Grand Prix of Thailand. After the first two editions - hosted at Si Racha - the race moved to the new location of Nakhonchaisri; a tortuous track characterized by supercross-style obstacles and built inside the area of the ‘Thailand Circuit’ which is a rudimentary road race facility about forty kilometres from Bangkok.

Desalle in actionCairoli in action

The second motos on the race programme were reduced in duration by five minutes due to high temperatures and humidity. Pirelli riders chose Pirelli SCORPION™ MX 32™, 80/100-21 front and 110 / 90-19 rear for the hard and rutty terrain.

Herlings in azione

In the MXGP class Clement Desalle has risen to the top of the championship standings. The Belgian rider was second in both races for the same rank in the overall classification. Third place went to Tony Cairoli. The eight times World Champion was fifth in the opening moto then scored a first win of the year in the second. Cairoli slips into second position in the championship just nine points from Desalle. An excellent performance was unveiled by Yamaha’s Romain Febvre in Thailand as he finished fourth for an impressive beginning to his rookie year in MXGP. Fifth position overall went to Kevin Strijbos. Pirelli dominated the MX2 class thanks to Jeffrey Herlings who won both races; exactly as he did in Qatar one week ago. Herlings ran without rival and leads the standings with maximum points: a perfect 100. A strong runner-up position belonged to Latvian Pauls Jonass for a first podium of his career. Third and fourth places overall fell to Team Kawasaki CLS riders, Dylan Ferrandis and Thomas Covington respectively. The championship will pause for a fortnight before allowing the teams to travel west and move to Neuquen, Argentina for round three at the end of March. Race results: MXGP race 1 1. VILLOPOTO Ryan (USA) 2. DESALLE Clement (BEL) 3. FEBVRE Romain (FRA) 4. NAGL Max (GER) 5. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) MXGP race 2 1. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) 2. DESALLE Clement (BEL) 3. VILLOPOTO Ryan (USA) 4. FEBVRE Romain (FRA) 5. STRIJBOS Kevin (BEL) MX2 race 1 1. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) 2. FERRANDIS Dylan (FRA) 3. GAJSER Tim (SLO) 4. JONASS Pauls (LAT) 5. COVINGTON Thomas (USA) MX2 race 2 1. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) 2. JONASS Pauls (LAT) 3. FERRANDIS  Dylan (FRA) 4. LIEBER Julien (BEL) 5. COVINGTON Thomas (USA) GP Overall: MXGP 1. VILLOPOTO Ryan (USA) 2. DESALLE Clement (BEL) 3. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) 4. FEBVRE Romain (FRA) 5 STRIJBOS Kevin (BEL) MX2 1. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) 2. JONASS Pauls (LAT) 3. FERRANDIS  Dylan (FRA) 4. COVINGTON Thomas (USA) 5. GUILLOD Valentine (SUI) Championship overall: MXGP 1. DESALLE Clement (BEL) p.88 2. CAIROLI  Antonio (ITA) p.79 3. NAGL Max (GER) p.78 4. VILLOPOTO Ryan (USA) p.70 5. FEBVRE Romain (FRA) p.67 6. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) p. 67 MX2 1. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) p.100 2. FERRANDIS  Dylan (FRA) p.78 3. JONASS Pauls (LET) p.70 4. LIEBER Julien (BEL) p.62 5. GUILLOD Valentin (SUI) p.58 6. TONKOV Aleksandre (RUS) p.56