Pauls Jonass with Pirelli is the new FIM Motocross World Champion in the MX2 class

Thomas Covington wins the MX2 class in France and Pauls Jonass takes the world title in the same category for the first time in his career. Pirelli monopolizes the podium in MXGP with Jeffrey Herlings, Tim Gajser and Max Anstie and rules the rostrum of the final championship standings in both divisions.

Another success for Pirelli in the last round of the FIM Motocross World Championship. After Antonio Cairoli's MXGP title, the famous tyre brand completed the ‘set’ in 2017 with Pauls Jonass' MX2 crown. On the tough and technical course of Villars sous Ecot, a hard-pack track that became slippery due to frequent rain showers, the new development rear SCORPION™ MX Softdemonstrated a range of usage beyond expectations and proved to be competitive even in extreme muddy conditions.

SCORPION™ MX Soft rear with SCORPION™ MX32™ Mid Soft front allowed Pirelli to place their riders in the top five positions of the opening MXGP race. In the second moto with a drying track (until rain arrived again in the last five minutes) Jeffrey Herlings and Max Anstie - first and third in the overall classification respectively - preferred the SCORPION™ MX32™ Mid Soft rear. Tim Gajser, who in race one relied on the SCORPION MX™ Soft rear and in race two on the SCORPION™ MX Mud, tied on points with Herlings but had to settle for second place due to the second moto ranking. France saw good performances also by Romain Febvre in fourth, Gautier Paulin in fifth and Kevin Strijboswas sixth.


Pirelli also won in MX2 thanks to Thomas Covington. First and second in the two races, the American grabbed overall spoils in front of Hunter Lawrence; the victor of the final sprint of the season. Pauls Jonass confirmed the 2017 title in the first race. After falling in the second corner after the start, the Latvian recovered many positions thanks to the SCORPION MX™ Soft rear tyre that allowed him to recover from last to fifth position. Jeremy Seewer, the only rider still able to defy Jonass, failed to cause an upset and finished the GP in fourth place, right in front of the Latvian.


The Grand Prix of the Pays de Montbeliard closed another triumphant season for Pirelli; now with sixty-eight world titles in motocross. In two weeks time Matterley Basin's ‘Motocross of Nations’, in England, will close the 2017 season.


Race results: MXGP race 1 1. GAJSER Tim (SLO) 2. FEBVRE Romain (FRA) 3. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) 4. ANSTIE Max (GBR) 5. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) MXGP race 2 1. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) 2. ANSTIE Max (GBR) 3. GAJSER Tim (SLO) 4. FEBVRE Romain (FRA) 5. TONUS Arnaud (SUI)  

MX2 race 1 1. COVINGTON Thomas (USA) 2. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) 3. BEATON Jed (AUS) 4. LAWRENCE Hunter (AUS) 5. JONASS Pauls (LAT) MX2 race 2 1. LAWRENCE Hunter (AUS) 2. COVINGTON Thomas (USA) 3. JONASS Pauls (LAT) 4. BEATON Jed (AUS) 5. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI)  

GP Overall: MXGP 1. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) 2. GAJSER Tim (SLO) 3. ANSTIE Max (GBR) 4. FEBVRE Romain (FRA) 5. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) MX2 1. COVINGTON Thomas (USA) 2. LAWRENCE Hunter (AUS) 3. BEATON Jed (AUS) 4. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) 5. JONASS Pauls (LAT)  

Championship overall: MXGP 1. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) p.722 2. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) p.672 3. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) p.602 4.DESALLE Clement (BEL) p.544 5. GAJSER Tim (SLO) p.530 6. FEBVRE Romain (FRA) p.519 MX2 1. JONASS Pauls (LAT) p.771 2. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) p.732 3. KJER OLSEN Thomas (DEN) p.579 4. COVINGTON Thomas (USA) p.532 5.PATUREL Benoit (FRA) p.504 6. LIEBER Julien (BEL) p.490