Pirelli dominate Grand Prix of Trentino in MXG and MX2 classes of the FIM Motocross World Championship

Antonio Cairoli wins his home race in MXGP, Tim Gajser, third overall, continues to lead the championship standings. Jeffrey Herlings wins in MX2

The steep walls of the northern Garda Dolomite mountains were the backdrop to the eighth round of the FIM Motocross World Championship - the Grand Prix of Trentino - which was held at the historic ‘Ciclamino’ circuit. The Italian track is made from hard-packed soil and due to thunderstorms that swept the area over the weekend churned deep and rough, straining bikes and riders in equal measure. In these conditions the riders equipped with Pirelli tyres were able to count on the excellent SCORPION™ MX32™ that confirmed incredible versatility allowing the Milan brand to continue a winning streak in Grand Prix this season. A great show in the MXGP class belonged - for the second time in a row - to Antonio Cairoli. The eight-time World Champion used the SCORPION™ MX32™ 110 / 90-19 rear and the brand new front SCORPION™ MX32™ PRO 80 / 100-21 developed for hard ground (and also used by Max Nagl) to win the first race and grabbed second place in the second. Behind him, Romain Febvre completed a strong GP after a feisty comeback in race one and then took the victory in the second moto. Trentino also saw a strong performance by Tim Gajser who preferred the SCORPION™ MX32™ 120 / 90-19 rear tyre for a larger contact patch and finished the Grand Prix on the third step of box while maintaining his leading position in the championship. Kevin Strijbos and Max Nagl completed yet another triumphant day for Pirelli in the premier-class getting fourth and fifth place overall. Hard fought races were also enjoyed in the MX2 class that was won for the eighth time in a row by Jeffrey Herlings. The Dutch rider opted for SCORPION™ MX32™ 110 / 90-19 rear and the SCORPION™ MX32™ 80 / 100-21 front and had to fight hard to confirm first place in front of a strong Dylan Ferrandis who was able to break Herling’s total hegemony in MX2 by claiming the first heat. Third place overall belonged to Pauls Jonass. Good positions also for Samuele Bernardini and Jeremy Seewer that closed out the top five of the day. After three consecutive fixtures the FIM MXGP World Championship will have a break next weekend and will resume its journey on May 29th from Talavera de la Reina, Spain, for the ninth round of the campaign. Race results: MXGP Race 1 1. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) 2. NAGL Maximilian (GER) 3. STRIJBOS Kevin (BEL) 4. GAJSER Tim (SLO) 5. VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy (BEL) MXGP race 2 1. FEBVRE Romain (FRA) 2. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) 3. BOBRYSHEV Evgeny (RUS) 4. GAJSER Tim (SLO) 5. VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy (BEL) MX2 race 1 1. FERRANDIS Dylan (FRA) 2. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) 3. JONASS Pauls (LAT) 4. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) 5. ANSTIE Max (GBR) MX2 race 2 1. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) 2. JONASS Pauls (LAT) 3. FERRANDIS Dylan (FRA) 4.BOGERS Brian (NED) 5. PATUREL Benoit (FRA) GP Overall: MXGP 1. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) 2. FEBVRE Romain (FRA) 3. GAJSER Tim (SLO) 4. STRIJBOS Kevin (BEL) 5. NAGL Maximilian (GER) MX2 1. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) 2. FERRANDIS Dylan (FRA) 3. JONASS Pauls (LAT) 4. BERNARDINI Samuele (ITA) 5. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) Championship overall: MXGP 1. GAJSER Tim (SLO) p.335 2. FEBVRE Romain (FRA) p.331 3. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) p.310 4. NAGL Maximilian (GER) p.273 5.BOBRYSHEV Evgeny (RUS)p.264 6. VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy (BEL) p.247 MX2 1. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) p.397 2. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) p.297 3. JONASS Pauls (LAT) p.260 4.PATUREL Benoit (FRA) p.211 5. TONKOV Aleksandr (RUS) p.210 6. PETROV Petar (BUL) p.202