Pirelli rules both podiums at the Grand Prix of Lombardia of the FIM Motocross World Championship

At Ottobiano Antonio Cairoli dominates MXGP in front of a noisy home crowd andJeremy Seewer wins in MX2. Cairoli consolidates his lead in MXGP while PaulsJonass remains in the command of MX2

Antonio Cairoli Antonio Cairoli
There was a brand new location for the eleventh round of the FIM Motocross World Championship - the Grand Prix of Lombardia - and Ottobiano's ‘South Milan Circuit’ was a splendid venue for racing. The sandy Italian track had been been adapted to meet world championship criteria and welcomed a 33.000 crowd. Pirelli riders used the SCORPION™ MX32™ Mid Soft front and the SCORPION™ MX Soft rear; the tyres which allowed them to score the best overall performances on the terrain.
Jeremy Seewer Jeremy Seewer
High temperatures did not stop Antonio Cairoli, who won the Grand Prix in the MXGP category. The eight-time World Champion dominated both races and now leads the premier class standings by 67 points. Jeffrey Herlings tried to ‘ruin’ Cairoli’s second home party of the year but had to settle for second place. Max Anstie had a great race in third overall and climbed the podium in MXGP for the first time. To crown Pirelli's fantastic day in MXGP a fourth place was taken by Romain Febvre, a fifth by Max Nagl fifth and sixth position was secured by Gautier Paulin.
Bas Vaessen Gautier Paulin
Thanks to a first and a second position in the two races Jeremy Seewer scored the overall win in MX2 and knocked 7 points from championship leader Pauls Jonass’ cushion. The Latvian was good at limiting the damage in a day that pushed the physical limits of very rider to the max; the KTM man was runner-up. There was a good third place overall for Thomas Covington, winner of the Saturday qualifying heat, and the American was consistent and fast throughout the weekend. Fifth place overall belonged to Bas Vaessen.
Jeffrey Herlings Jorge Prado
No break now for riders and teams with the journey to Agueda, Portugal next weekend and the twelfth round of the 2017 Championship. Race results: MXGP race 1 1. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) 2. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) 3. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) 4. FEBVRE Romain (FRA) 5. ANSTIE Max (GBR) MXGP race 2 1. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) 2. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) 3. ANSTIE Max (GBR) 4. NAGL Maximilian (GER) 5. JASIKONIS Arminas (LTU)
Max Anstie Max Nagl
MX2 race 1 1. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) 2.PATUREL Benoit (FRA) 3. LIEBER Julien (BEL) 4. COVINGTON Thomas (USA) 5. BOGERS Brian (NED) MX2 race 2 1. JONASS Pauls (LAT) 2. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) 3. COVINGTON Thomas (USA) 4. VAESSEN Bas (NED) 5. OSTLUND Alvin (SWE)
Pauls Jonass Romain Febvre
GP Overall: MXGP 1. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) 2. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) 3. ANSTIE Max (GBR) 4. FEBVRE Romain (FRA) 5. NAGL Maximilian (GER) MX2 1. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) 2. JONASS Pauls (LAT) 3. COVINGTON Thomas (USA) 4. PATUREL Benoit (FRA) 5. VAESSEN Bas (NED)
Antonio Cairoli on the podium MX2 podium
Championship overall: MXGP 1. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) p.431 2. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) p.364 3. DESALLE Clement (BEL) p.361 4. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) p.335 5. GAJSER Tim (SLO) p.282 6. FEBVRE Romain (FRA) p.275 MX2 1. JONASS Pauls (LAT) p.454 2. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) p.416 3. KJER OLSEN Thomas (DEN) p.343 4. LIEBER JULIEN (BEL) p.339 5. PATUREL Benoit (FRA) p.330 6. COVINGTON Thomas (USA) p.263