Pirelli SCORPION™ MX 32™ dominates the FIM Motocross World Championship in Sweden

The eleventh round of 2015 FIM Motocross World Championship was hosted at the Uddevalla circuit in Sweden, located at about sixty kilometres north of Gothenburg. The Swedish facility offered a hard and slippery surface on which Pirelli SCORPION™ MX32™ tyres provided excellent performance and have allowed riders to post some good results. In the MXGP class Romain Febvre continued his great momentum winning both races and extending his lead to 39 points in the championship. The Frenchman, who raced with SCORPION™ MX32™ 80/100-21 front and 120/90-19 at the rear has won six out of the last nine motos and does not seem to feel the weight of the red plate as MXGP leader; a position he has surprisingly assumed in his first season in premier class. An excellent second place overall was taken by Jeremy Van Horebeek. The Belgian, in contrast to his team-mate and winner of the Grand Prix, chose the SCORPION™ MX32™ 90/100-21 front. The same type of Pirelli tyres was picked by Kevin Strijbos, who won Saturday’s qualifying race and got third overall on Sunday. To complete a triumphant day for Pirelli Dean Ferris and Todd Waters took fourth and fifth overall. Antonio Cairoli was seventh in the classification and is now second in the championship standings. The Sicilian made a good comeback in the first heat relying on the SCORPION™ MX32™ 80/100-21 front and 110/90-19 at the rear. In race 2, with a wetter track opted for the 120/90-19 for the rear that - with a larger profile - has provided him with better grip to grab third place. Max Nagl and Clement Desalle were still out of the running due to injuries but should hopefully be ready to return for the Grand Prix of Czech Republic later this month. Tim Gajser won for the fourth time this season in the MX2 class. The Slovenian, who raced with the SCORPION™ MX32™ 80/100-21 front and 110/90-19 at the rear like all Pirelli’s riders in the category, won the second moto after occupying second place in the opening race. Third place overall belonged to Jeremy Seewer and thanks to this result now holds fourth position in the championship standings. A good fourth place was celebrated by Russian Vsevolod Brylyakov. It was abitter sweet Grand Prix for Jeffrey Herlings. Two weeks after his collarbone injury in Teutschenthal he won the first moto against all the odds but was forced to retire in second heat due to a bad injury to his left hand. Next weekend the FIM Motocross World Championship will tackle the twelfth round of the season that will take place at the Kegums circuit in Latvia. Results: MXGP race 1 1. ROMAIN Febvre (FRA) 2. VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy (BEL) 3.SIMPSON Shaun (ENG) 4. WATERS Todd (AUS) 5. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) MXGP race 2 1. ROMAIN Febvre (FRA) 2. STRIJBOS Kevin (BEL) 3. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) 4. FERRIS Dean (AUS) 5. VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy (BEL) MX2 race 1 1. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) 2. GAJSER Tim (SLO) 3. GUILLOD Valentin (SUI) 4. JONASS Pauls (LAT) 5. BRYLYAKOV Vsevolod (RUS) MX2 race 2 1. GAJSER Tim (SLO) 2. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) 3. TIXIER Jordi (FRA) 4.GUILLOD Valentin (SUI) 5. BRYLYAKOV Vsevolod (RUS) GP overall: MXGP 1. ROMAIN Febvre (FRA) 2. VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy (BEL) 3. STRIJBOS Kevin (BEL) 4. FERRIS Dean (AUS) 5. WATERS Todd (AUS) MX2 1. GAJSER Tim (SLO) 2.GUILLOD Valentin (SUI) 3. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) 4. BRYLYAKOV Vsevolod (RUS) 5. BOGERS Brian (NED) Championship overall: MXGP 1. FEBVRE Romain (FRA) p.419 2. CAIROLI  Antonio (ITA) p.380 3. NAGL Max (GER) p.360 4.PAULIN Gautier (FRA) p. 351 5. BOBRYSHEV Evgeny (RUS) p.319 6. DESALLE Clement p.291 MX2 1. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) p.423 2. GAJSER Tim (SLO) p.345 3.GUILLOD Valentin (SUI) p.335 4. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) p.311 5. JONASS Pauls (LAT) p.307 6. TIXIER Jordi (FRA) p.306