Pirelli SCORPION™ MX Soft 410 e SCORPION™ MX32™ Mid Soft: the “kings of the sand” clean out the Grand Prix of Belgium of the FIM Motocross World Championship

Kevin Strijbos (MXGP) and Max Anstie (MX2) win at Lommel, Tim Gajser, fifth overall, continues to lead MXGP. Jeffrey Herlings, still out with injury, fronts MX2.

The rough Lommel sand was once again tough for the bikes and riders facing the fourteenth round of the 2016 FIM Motocross World Championship. To tackle the difficult conditions of the Belgian track Pirelli riders were able to rely on the SCORPION™ MX32™ Mid Soft 80/100-21 front in both categories to display their precision skills on the sandy soil of Lommel and the SCORPION™ MX Soft 410 rear; both tyres allowed the Italian tyre company to monopolize the podium in each class.


Kevin Strijbos, aboard his Suzuki, won the ‘overall’ in MXGP. The Belgian, like most of the Pirelli riders in the premier class, opted for the SCORPION™ MX Soft 410 110/90-19 rear, and won for the first time this season. The same Pirelli tyres also served for Max Nagl's Husqvarna; the German finished in second place despite a crash in the second race. It was a good GP for Antonio Cairoli, riding the KTM 350SX-F for the second time, who finished in third position ahead of Jeremy Van Horebeek. Fifth place belonged to Tim Gajser and sixth to Shaun Simpson; the only two riders that preferred SCORPION™ MX Soft 410 120/80-19 rear. The Slovenian remains firmly in control of the championship with a lead of 103 points on Cairoli. Glenn Coldenhoff was seventh overall. Absent for the second consecutive Grand Prix Jeffrey Herlings saw other riders enjoy the limelight and the first three on the podium used Pirelli technology. Belgium saw a first win of the season for Max Anstie, who scored a double victory aboard his Husqvarna, in front of Jeremy Seewer’s Suzuki and Petar Petrov’s Kawasaki. With today's results Pirelli has mathematically grabbed the title of the MX2 class that will be played out in the final four rounds between Herlings, Seewer and Pauls Jonass. It is Title No.65 in motocross for the ‘long P’ brand. There was great satisfaction for Pirelli even in the European Championship support races held at Lommel: Bas Vaessen won the EMX250 class, while Jago Geerts and Mike Kras reached the status of European Champions in EMX125 and EMX300. Next weekend riders will approach the fifteenth round of the World Championship season, which will be hosted on the brand new circuit of Frauenfeld, Switzerland. Race results: MXGP Race 1

  1. 1.   NAGL Max (GER)
  2. 2.   SIMPSON Shaun (GBR)
  3. 3.   STRIJBOS Kevin (BEL)
  4. 4.   DESALLE Clement (BEL)
  5. 5.   FEBVRE Romain (FRA)

MXGP race 2

  1. 1.   GAJSER Tim (SLO)
  2. 2.   CAIROLI Antonio (ITA)
  3. 3.   STRIJBOS Kevin (BEL)
  4. 4.   VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy (BEL)
  5. 5.   COLDENHOFF Glenn (NED)

MX2 race 1

  1. 1.   ANSTIE Max (GBR)
  2. 2.   PETROV Petar (BUL)
  3. 3.   PATUREL Benoit (FRA)
  4. 4.   SEEWER Jeremy (SUI)
  5. 5.   BOGERS Brian (NED)

MX2 race 2

  1. 1.   ANSTIE Max (GBR)
  2. 2.   SEEWER Jeremy (SUI)
  3. 3.   FERRANDIS Dylan (FRA)
  4. 4.   BOGERS Brian (NED)
  5. 5.   VLAANDEREN Calvin (NED)


GP Overall: MXGP

  1. 1.   STRIJBOS Kevin (BEL)
  2. 2.   NAGL Max (GER)
  3. 3.   CAIROLI Antonio (ITA)
  4. 4.   VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy (BEL)
  5. 5.   GAJSER Tim (SLO)


  1. 1.   ANSTIE Max (GBR)
  2. 2.   SEEWER Jeremy (SUI)
  3. 3.   PETROV Petar (BUL)
  4. 4.   BOGERS Brian (NED)
  5. 5.   PATUREL Benoit (FRA)

Championship overall: MXGP

  1. 1.   GAJSER Tim (SLO) p.607
  2. 2.   CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) p.504
  3. 3.   NAGL Maximilian (GER) p.490
  4. 4.   FEBVRE Romain (FRA) p.464
  5. 5.   BOBRYSHEV Evgeny (RUS) p.445
  6. 6.   VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy (BEL) p.417


  1. 1.   HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) p.597
  2. 2.   SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) p.510
  3. 3.   JONASS Pauls (LAT) p.403
  4. 4.   PATUREL Benoit (FRA) p.393
  5. 5.   FERRANDIS Dylan (FRA) p.378
  6. 6.    ANSTIE Max (GBR) p.366