Rain doesn’t stop Pirelli riders at the Grand Prix of Czech Republic of the FIM Motocross World Championship

At Loket Antonio Cairoli wins his third consecutive GP and consolidates his lead in the MXGP Championship while MX2 victory belongs to Pauls Jonass; the Latvian still holds the red plate in the class



Last weekend Loket 's ‘Serpentine’ circuit hosted the Grand Prix of the Czech Republic for what was the thirteenth round of the FIM Motocross World Championship. The old-school track is chiseled from hard and compact soil that became slippery due to the rainfall of Sunday morning. The conditions once again highlighted the excellent performance of the SCORPION™ MX32™ Mid Soft, front and rear: tyres that allowed Pirelli to get the overall victory in both classes. Loket was the scene of a third consecutive success for Antonio Cairoli in MXGP. After winning the qualifier on Saturday, the Sicilian completed a conservative first race in third position but claimed the second sprint and defends the top spot in the standings by a hefty distance. A good third place overall was earned by Tim Gajser who has finally shook off the injury that has blighted his season by winning the first moto and taking fourth place in the second. Jeffrey Herlings was fourth in the final classification and thanks to this result grabbed third place in the championship. Good results were also posted by Gautier Paulin, Romain Febvre and Jeremy Van Horebeek in fifth, sixth and seventh positions respectively.



Pirelli’s swept the podium of the MX2 class. Pauls Jonass celebrated victory and is now leading the championship by 48 points advantage over Jeremy Seewer. The Swiss finished second in Loket just in front of Thomas Covington who was third overall and winner of the first race. Jorge Pradoalso rode well with typically strong starts to snare fifth on the day. In the fourth round of the FIM Women's World Championship Courtney Duncan won the overall and gathered the red plate with two rounds remaining and four riders split by just 12 points in the standings. In two weeks time the riders will tackle the Grand Prix of Belgium in the deep and difficult sand of Lommel.



Race results (Pirelli riders in bold): MXGP race 1 1. GAJSER Tim (SLO) 2. DESALLE Clement (BEL) 3. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) 4. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) 5. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) MXGP race 2 1. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) 2. DESALLE Clement (BEL) 3. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) 4. GAJSER Tim (SLO) 5. PAULIN Gautier (FRA)



MX2 race 1 1. COVINGTON Thomas (USA) 2. JONASS Pauls (LAT) 3. PRADO GARCIA Jorge (SPA) 4. OLSEN Thomas Kjer (DEN) 5. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) MX2 race 2 1. JONASS Pauls (LAT) 2. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) 3.PATUREL Benoit (FRA) 4. BOGERS Brian (NED) 5. LIEBER Julien (BEL)



GP Overall: MXGP 1. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) 2. DESALLE Clement (BEL) 3. GAJSER Tim (SLO) 4. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) 5. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) MX2 1. JONASS Pauls (LAT) 2. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) 3. COVINGTON Thomas (USA) 4. PATUREL Benoit (FRA) 5. PRADO GARCIA Jorge (SPA)



Championship overall: MXGP 1. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) p.523 2. DESALLE Clement (BEL) p.431 3. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) p.418 4. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) p.417 5. GAJSER Tim (SLO) p.353 6. FEBVRE Romain (FRA) p.338 MX2 1. JONASS Pauls (LAT) p.548 2. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) p.501 3. KJER OLSEN Thomas (DEN) p.403 4. PATUREL Benoit (FRA) p.398 5. LIEBER JULIEN (BEL) p.374 6. COVINGTON Thomas (USA) p.339