Scorpion MX main protagonists at Motocross Grand Prix of Italy

The third round of the FIM series confirms Pirelli’s superiority as Herlings and Pourcel own MX2 and MX1 classes respectively After the clean sweep at Holland for the Grand Prix season opener Pirelli Scorpion MX marked their second double at the Grand Prix of Italy across the difficult, rough and softened terrain at Fermo that was an ideal showcase for the capabilities of the MidSoft 32. MX1 was controlled by Frenchman Christophe Pourcel who triumphed thanks to a first moto win and a runner-up spot in the second race. The Kawasaki racer was ahead of Antonio Cairoli. The Sicilian rode to a tight but satisfactory third place in the first moto and then wrestled control of the second race after a great start to win in front of his many fans. The Pirelli 1-2-3 was completed by Clement Desalle while in fifth position overall was KTM’s Ken De Dycker. 2011 vice-champion Steven Frossard was reduced to the role of bystander as his attempt at the GP only five days after knee surgery proved futile. The Scorpion MX MidSoft 32 also shone in MX2 thanks to the winner of both motos Jeffrey Herlings. The Dutchman classified ahead of surprisingly quick American Michael Leib and other Pirelli riders in the forms of Jeremy Van Horebeek and Jordi Tixier. Bad luck laid in store for Kawasaki Floride Monster Energy duo Joel Roelants and Tommy Searle. The former had to withdraw from the GP after a first moto crash led to a concussion while the latter suffered a technical problem and a DNF. Searle was also hit to the ground at the start of the second race. “At this event we provided Suzuki and Kawasaki riders with the new MidHard 554,” commented Racing Manager Giovanni Gatti “that we rolled out for the first time at this circuit, Fermo, for the closing Grand Prix last season but with the soft and wet conditions because of the watering the MidSoft 32 offered the best performance and was the natural choice.” The schedule continues with round four taking place in Mexico on May 13th. MX1 Overall Classification:

1. Christophe Pourcel Kawasaki Team CP377
2. Antonio Cairoli KTM Team Red Bull Factory
3. Clement Desalle Suzuki Team Rockstar
4. Gautier Paulin Kawasaki Team KRT
5. Ken De Dycker KTM Team Red Bull Factory

MX1 Championship standings:

1. Antonio Cairoli KTM p. 133 2. Gautier Paulin Kawasaki p. 116 3. Christophe Pourcel Kawasaki p. 106 4. Clement Desalle Suzuki p. 105 5. Ken De Dycker KTM p. 95 MX2 Overall Classification: 1. Jeffrey Herlings KTM Team Red Bull Factory 2. Michael Leib Yamaha Team Monster Energy 3. Jeremy V. Horebeek KTM Team Red Bull Factory 4. Jordi Tixier KTM Team Red Bull Factory 5. José Butron KTM Team Diga Racing