World MX – Round 7, St. Jean D'Angely (FR)

All of the four classes disputed at the GP of France were owned by Pirelli who monopolised the top step of the podium at the seventh round of fifteen in the FIM Motocross World Championship. David Philippaerts conquered the MX1 class while MX2 was the reaping ground once more for Marvin Musquin, the Scorpion MX MidSoft 32 was used by the main protagonist and victor of the EMX 125 series with Frenchman Jordi Tixier and the Women’s World Championship was won again by German Stephanie Laier. MX1


The hard-pack French track was rendered extremely difficult on this occasion as early morning race-day thunderstorms and rainfall created a soft and very rutted terrain at St Jean. The Scorpion MidSoft 32 excelled in these conditions with its virtues of traction, adaptability and reliability. First place overall went to works Yamaha rider David Philippaerts, who filled his score-card with third and first positions in the two motos, ahead of Antonio Cairoli who could not repeat his first moto success because of a bad start in the second race. Thanks to his podium finish, the sixth of the season, the Sicilian was able to stretch his advantage in the championship standings to 68 points over factory Suzuki representative Clement Desalle. The Belgian, riding with Scorpion MidSoft 32 front and rear took third place at the Grand Prix and has moved up to second in the series. Right behind him in the GP classification was team-mate Steve Ramon. It was an unlucky meeting for Max Nagl, who now looks unable to fight for the 2010 crown after falling during Qualification and fracturing his left collarbone. Overall Classification
1. David Philippaerts Yamaha
2. Antonio Cairoli KTM
3. Clement Desalle Suzuki
4. Steve Ramon Suzuki
5. Anthony Boissiere TM
Championship Standings
1. Antonio Cairoli KTM Team Red Bull De Carli 304
2. Clement Desalle Suzuki Team Rockstar Teka 236
3. David Philippaerts Yamaha Team Yamaha Monster 229
4. Max Nagl KTM Team Red Bull De Carli 218
5. Steve Ramon Suzuki Team Rockstar Teka 211


Six wins from seven events now for Marvin Musquin who was dominant in front of his home crowd and with the factory KTM booted with Scorpion MidSoft 32 front and rear. The Frenchman notched his fifth double set of motos wins this season and classified ahead of Belgian Joel Roelants, steering his KTM also with Pirelli. A decent performance, especially in the second moto, saw KTM’s Shaun Simpson take fourth overall ahead of team-mate Jeffrey Herlings who fell afoul of a crash in the second moto. Overall Classification
1. Marvin Musquin KTM
2. Joel Roelants KTM
3. Zach Osborne Yamaha
4. Shaun Simpson KTM
5. Jeffrey Herlings KTM
Championship Standings
1. Marvin Musquin KTM Team Red Bull Factory 318
2. Ken Roczen Suzuki Team Teka 247
3. Steven Frossard Kawasaki Team CLS 230
4. Jeffrey Herlings KTM Team Red Bull Factory 228
5. Shaun Simpson KTM Team Red Bull Factory 201