GP of Qatar launches the 2015 FIM Motocross World Championship

Pirelli SCORPION™ MX32™ dominates MXGP with Nagl, MX2 with Herlings

In the magical night of Qatar the FIM Motocross World Championship launched for the first round of eighteen in the 2015 MXGP campaign. The powerful floodlights of the Losail circuit bathed for the third consecutive year the start of series played out on a difficult and particular track where the Pirelli SCORPION™ MX32™ 80/100-21 front and SCORPION™ MX32™ 110/90-19 rear tyres enhanced the quality of the champions on show. Such as Tony Cairoli, fighting this year for his ninth title, or the young talent Jeffrey Herlings, already a two-time winner; Jordi Tixier, reigning MX2 champion; and David Philippaerts, titled in 2008 and returning this year to Pirelli. It was Max Nagl however who climbed to the top step of the podium, scoring both ‘holeshots’ with Pirelli and winning the two races and Clement Desalle, steering his Suzuki with aplomb, finishing as runner-up.

Max Nagl

Nagl was prolific on his debut as a factory Husqvarna rider. The German, fourth in qualifying, unveiled two perfect races leading every lap from start to finish. Second place overall went to Desalle and fourth, tied on points with third, was Antonio Cairoli. Jeremy Van Horebeek brought his Yamaha home in fifth position. Jeffrey Herlings returned to dominate the MX2 category after the serious injury to his femur that he suffered in 2014. The Dutch rider won the qualification heat and then both races on Saturday night. Third place was obtained by Dylan Ferrandis in front of Tim Gajser and Aleksander Tonkov. After the first race of the season, the World Championship ‘circus’ will move to Thailand in the new location of Nakhonchaisri, located forty kilometers from the capital Bangkok. Results: MXGP race 1 1. NAGL Max (GER) 2. DESALLE Clement (BEL) 3.CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) 4. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) 5. VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy (BEL)

Jeffrey Herlings

MXGP race 2 1. NAGL Max (GER) 2. DESALLE Clement (BEL) 3. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) 4. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) 5. VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy (BEL) MX2 race 1 1. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) 2. FERRANDIS  Dylan (FRA) 3. LIEBER Julien (BEL) 4. GAJSER Tim (SLO) 5. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) MX2 race 2 1. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) 2. LIEBER Julien (BEL) 3. TONKOV Aleksandr (RUS) 4. JONASS Pauls (LAT) 5. FERRANDIS  Dylan (FRA) Overall: MXGP 1. NAGL Max (GER) 2. DESALLE Clement (BEL) 3. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) MX2 1. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) 2. LIEBER Julien (BEL) 3. FERRANDIS Dylan (FRA)

Max Nagl



MXGP 1. NAGL Max (GER) p. 50 2. DESALLE Clement (BEL) p. 44 3. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) p. 38 4. CAIROLI  Antonio (ITA) p. 38 5. VAN HORBEEK Jeremy (BEL) p. 32 6. FEBVRE Romain (FRA) p. 29 7. VILLOPOTO Ryan (USA) p. 25 8. BOBRYSHEV Evgeny (RUS) p. 25 9. STRIJBOS Kevin (BEL) p. 24 10. SIMPSON Shaun (GBR) p. 21 MX2 1. HERLINGS Jeffrey (NED) p.50 2. LIEBER Julien (BEL) p.42 3. FERRANDIS  Dylan (FRA) p. 38 4. GAJSER  Tim (SLO) p. 32 5. TONKOV Aleksadnr (RUS) p. 31 6. JONASS Pauls (LET) p. 30 7. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) p. 29 8. GUILLOD Valentin (SUI) p. 28 9. TIXIER Jordi (FRA) p. 24 10. COVINGTON Thomas (USA) p. 21