Pietramurata (Italy),


Tim Gajser takes his fifth overall win in 2020 MXGP. Ben Watson records his second MX2 success of the season while new champion Tom Vialle classifies on the podium.

The Grand Prix of Garda Trentino, the eighteenth round of the season and the third race of the triple header hosted by the Pietramurata circuit, closed the 2020 edition of the FIM Motocross World Championship. The front and rear SCORPION™ MX32™ Mid Soft tires, paired with medium / soft mousse, proved to be the ideal selection for the hard soil which during the day was heavily marked by deep and tricky ruts. After securing both world championship crowns in the previous Grand Prix and having achieved the remarkable number of 74 world titles in motocross, Pirelli also confirmed its dominance in the final championship standings where it placed riders in the top three positions in the MXGP class and the top seven in MX2.

After defending his title in the previous GP, Tim Gajser won again in MXGP. The Slovenian was second in the first moto and dominated the second. Gautier Paulin and Jeremy Seewer finished the race equal on points but the Frenchman walked on the third step of the podium thanks to the better position in the final moto. Seewer consoled himself by nudging Antonio Cairoli from second place in the championship standings. The Sicilian took sixth in race one but was forced to retire in the last moto.

Ben Watson took his second overall win of 2020 in MX2. The Englishman finished second in the first moto and he won the final one. He will move up in MXGP for 2021. New world champion Tom Vialle finished as runner-up despite some mistakes in the final moto. Third place in both the race and the championship belonged to Maxime Renaux. There was some great performances also by Jed Beaton and Isak Gifting who finished in fourth and fifth position respectively.

Jimmy Clochet took victory in the final round of the EMXOpen European Championship ahead of Toms MacuksKarel Kutsar was seventh in Pietramurata and won the continental title. The SCORPION™ range also stood out by winning all the Holeshot Awards in the MX2 class and the 80% of those in MXGPSCORPION™ equipped riders bagged the Fastest Lap Award in the 90% of the motos in MX2 and in the 85% of those in MXGP.

Results (Pirelli riders in bold):

MXGP race 1

  1. FEBVRE Romain (FRA)
  2. GAJSER Tim (SLO)
  3. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI)
  4. PAULIN Gautier (FRA)
  5. TONUS Arnaud (SUI)

MXGP race 2

  1. GAJSER Tim (SLO)
  2. FEBVRE Romain (FRA)
  3. PAULIN Gautier (FRA)
  4. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI)
  5. BOGERS Brian (NED)

MX2 race 1

  1. VIALLE Tom (FRA)
  2. RENAUX Maxime (FRA)
  3. WATSON Ben (GBR)
  4. GEERTS Jago (BEL)
  5. RUBINI Stephen (FRA)

MX2 race 2

  1. WATSON Ben (GBR)
  2. BEATON Jed (AUS)
  3. GIFTING Isak (SWE)
  4. RENAUX Maxime (FRA)
  5. VIALLE Tom (FRA)

GP Overall:


  1. GAJSER Tim (SLO)
  2. FEBVRE Romain (FRA)
  3. PAULIN Gautier (FRA)
  4. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI)
  5. DESALLE Clement (BEL)


  1. WATSON Ben (GBR)
  2. VIALLE Tom (FRA)
  3. RENAUX Maxime (FRA)
  4. BEATON Jed (AUS)
  5. GIFTING Isak (SWE)

Championship overall:


  1. GAJSER Tim (SLO) p.720
  2. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) p.618
  3. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) p.599
  4. FEBVRE Romain (FRA) p.572
  5. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) p.505
  6. PRADO Jorge (SPA) p.476


  1. VIALLE Tom (FRA) p.759
  2. GEERTS Jago (BEL) p.679
  3. RENAUX Maxime (FRA) p.581
  4. BEATON Jed (AUS) p.564
  5. WATSON Ben (GBR) p.551
  6. OLSEN Thomas Kjer (DEN) p.540