Pirelli claims modern and historic wins on mille Miglia Rally

Pirelli-equipped drivers have triumphed in both the modern and historic sections of the Mille Miglia Rally: one of the most evocative names in the history of motorsport. The Mille Miglia, once an open road race famously won by Sir Stirling Moss, is now a stage rally and the first round of the Italian Rally Championship for World Rally Cars this year, which is run separately from the main Italian Rally Championship.

Mille Miglia rally winners Luca Rossetti & Ivan Maurigi Luca Rossetti


Former European and Italian Rally Champion Luca Rossetti won the Mille Miglia, co-driven by Ivan Maurigi in a Ford Fiesta RS WRC, using Pirelli RX asphalt rally tyres. Rossetti – known as ‘Mr 100%’ for his clean sweep of a number of Intercontinental Rally Challenge rounds a few years back – claimed every stage apart from the last one. The very first Hyundai i20 WRC in private hands also made a debut appearance on Pirelli tyres. The crew of Corrado Fontana and Nicola Arena drove it to fourth overall. The historic section of the event was won by another Pirelli-equipped crew, with Giulio Pedretti, co-driven by Davide Rossi, ending up as the winners. Earlier, reigning European champions Massimo Pedretti and Emanuele Baldaccini had dominated the rally in their Lancia Rally 037, which also used the Pirelli P7 Classic. This tyre combines a traditional look with the latest modern tyre technology, making even the most fearsome Group B cars easier to handle.


For further information about Pirelli please contact Anthony Peacock on +44 7765 896 930 or