Pirelli monopolizes the podium in both classed at the Grand Prix of Patagonia of the FIM Motocross World Championship

Tim Gajser dominates two races in MXGP and takes the lead in the Championship; double victory for Pauls Jonass in MX2 while Jeremy Seewer keeps Pirelli atop of the standings

Tony CairoliTony Cairoli

The beautiful Neuquen circuit hosted the Grand Prix of Patagonia, the third round of the FIM Motocross World Championship 2017 and as usual many South American fans crowded the steep banking surrounding the track. All the riders in the MXGP and MX2 classes opted for Pirelli SCORPION™ MX32™ Mid Soft front. As for rear - and to better adapt to the sandy soil of the Argentinian circuit – many opted for the Pirelli rubber that best fitted better their riding style.

Tim GajserTim Gajser

The SCORPION™ MX32™ Soft 120/80-19 rear was the winning choice in the MXGP class. Tim Gajser grasped victory in both races and took the red plate in the Championship, while Jeremy Van Horebeek finished second just ahead of Evgeny Bobryshev.

Jeffrey HerlingsGlenn Coldenhoff

Good performances also for Gauitier Paulin and Romain Febvre in fourth and fifth overall. Febvre was the only Pirelli rider that chose the SCORPION™ MX32™ Mid Soft rear. Antonio Cairolimade a great comeback after a couple of falls during the two races and managed to finish the Grand Prix in seventh place overall.

Romain FebvreJorge Prado

In the MX2 class (in search of higher cornering speed) the riders that selected the Pirelli SCORPION™ MX32™ Mid Soft in the Mud rear version managed to sweep the podium. The overall win belonged to Pauls Jonass who claimed both races. There was an excellent second position in store for Jorge Prado in front of Jeremy Seewer,who thanks to this result is the new leader of the championship after three meetings.

Jeremy Van VorebeekJeremy Seewer

In two weeks time the teams and riders will move to Leon, Mexico, for the fourth round of the 2017 FIM Motocross World Championship.

Evgeny BobryshevTim Gajser on the podium

Race results (in bold Pirelli riders): MXGP race 1 1. GAJSER Tim (SLO) 2. VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy (BEL) 3. DESALLE Clement (BEL) 4. FEBVRE Romain (FRA) 5. BOBRYSHEV Evgeny (RUS) MXGP race 1 1. GAJSER Tim (SLO) 2. BOBRYSHEV Evgeny (RUS) 3. VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy (BEL) 4. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) 5. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) MX2 race 1 1. JONASS Pauls (LAT) 2. PATUREL Benoit (FRA) 3. PRADO GARCIA Jorge (SPA) 4. KJER OLSEN Thomas (DEN) 5. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) MX2 race 2 1. JONASS Pauls (LAT) 2. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) 3. PRADO GARCIA Jorge (SPA) 4. SANAYEI Darian (USA) 5. LIEBER Julien (BEL) GP Overall: MXGP 1. GAJSER Tim (SLO) 2. VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy (BEL) 3. BOBRYSHEV Evgeny (RUS) 4. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) 5. FEBVRE Romain (FRA MX2 1. JONASS Pauls (LAT) 2. PRADO GARCIA Jorge (SPA) 3. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) 4. PATUREL Benoit (FRA) 5. SANAYEI Darian (USA) Championship overall: MXGP 1. GAJSER Tim (SLO) p.106 2. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) p.96 3. DESALLE Clement (BEL) p.91 4. VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy (BEL) p.84 5. BOBRYSHEV Evgeny (RUS) p.82 6. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) p.72 MX2 1. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) p.110 2. JONASS Pauls (LAT)) p.107 3.PATUREL Benoit (FRA) p.104 4. LIEBER JULIEN (BEL) p.99 5. KJER OLSEN Thomas (DEN) p.99 6. VAN DONINCK Brent (BEL) p.73