Pietramurata (Italy),


Tim Gajser wins in MXGP and secures the world title. Jago Geerts triumphs in MX2 but Tom Vialle is crowned world champion with one race to go before the end of the championship.

The Grand Prix of Pietramurata, the seventeenth and penultimate round of the 2020 FIM Motocross World Championship, was the second race of the triple header hosted by the spectacular Al Ciclamino circuit. Pirelli-equipped riders were again able to count on the excellent performance of the SCORPION™ MX32™ Mid Soft front and rear tires which, combined with medium / soft mousse, proved to be successful in every class.

It was a memorable day for Tim Gajser in the MXGP class. The Slovenian took overall victory and, at the end of the first moto, became world champion for the fourth time in his career. The HRC rider defended the title he won last season. Jeremy Seewer finished as runner up overall after winning the first moto. Good results also arrived for Antonio Cairoli, fifth overall and second in the championship standings, and Alessandro Lupino, sixth overall after an amazing third place finish in race one.

Jago Geerts won the MX2 Grand Prix just ahead of team mate Ben Watson. Jed Beaton took the third step of the podium. Maxime Renaux finished fourth ahead of the surprising Thibault Benistant; the freshly crowned European EMX250 champion proved to be very fast also at world championship level. Thanks to victory in the first moto, Tom Vialle became the new MX2 world champion. The 20-year-old Frenchman took possession of the red plate in the second GP and kept it for the entire season to confirm his first career title success.

Tom Macuks seized victory in the penultimate round of the EMXOpen European Championship and the title mathematically obtained by Pirelli with one race to go crowned a fantastic weekend for the Italian brand. The Latvian preceded Kim Savaste, second, and Karel Kutsar, third and who sets the pace in the series. Fourth place by Cornelius Toendel and fifth by Jimmy Clochet rounded-out a top five dominated by Pirelli.

Next Sunday the Grand Prix of Garda Trentino, once more held on the Pietramurata circuit, will close the 2020 FIM Motocross World Championship. A season full of glory and satisfaction for Pirelli which has brought their number of world titles in motocross to 74.

Results (Pirelli riders in bold):

MXGP race 1

  1. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI)
  2. GAJSER Tim (SLO)
  3. LUPINO Alessandro (ITA)
  4. DESALLE Clement (BEL)
  5. FEBVRE Romain (FRA)

MXGP race 2

  1. GAJSER Tim (SLO)
  2. FEBVRE Romain (FRA)
  3. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI)
  4. DESALLE Clement (BEL)
  5. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA)

MX2 race 1

  1. VIALLE Tom (FRA)
  2. BEATON Jed (AUS)
  3. RENAUX Maxime (FRA)
  4. WATSON Ben (GBR)
  5. GEERTS Jago (BEL)

MX2 race 2

  1. GEERTS Jago (BEL)
  2. WATSON Ben (GBR)
  3. BENISTANT Thibault (FRA)
  4. BEATON Jed (AUS)
  5. RENAUX Maxime (FRA)

GP Overall:


  1. GAJSER Tim (SLO)
  2. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI)
  3. FEBVRE Romain (FRA)
  4. DESALLE Clement (BEL)
  5. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA)


  1. GEERTS Jago (BEL)
  2. WATSON Ben (GBR)
  3. BEATON Jed (AUS)
  4. RENAUX Maxime (FRA)
  5. BENISTANT Thibault (FRA)

Championship overall:


  1. GAJSER Tim (SLO) p.673
  2. CAIROLI Antonio (ITA) p.584
  3. SEEWER Jeremy (SUI) p.580
  4. FEBVRE Romain (FRA) p.525
  5. PRADO Jorge (SPA) p.476
  6. PAULIN Gautier (FRA) p.467


  1. VIALLE Tom (FRA) p.718
  2. GEERTS Jago (BEL) p.661
  3. RENAUX Maxime (FRA) p.541
  4. BEATON Jed (AUS) p.528
  5. OLSEN Thomas Kjer (DEN) p.517
  6. WATSON Ben (GBR) p.506