Race 1: Ducati one-two “in yellow” with Pirelli SCX development tyre

Pole man Bautista wins the first race of the Pirelli Emilia-Romagna Round ahead of teammate Rinaldi; Ducati also takes the win in WorldSSP with Bulega whereas Ieraci wins in WorldSSP300

The first day of racing has come to an end for the FIM World Superbike Championship Pirelli Emilia-Romagna round at the Misano circuit. Álvaro Bautista (Aruba.It Racing – Ducati) won Race 1, finishing ahead of his teammate, Michael Ruben Rinaldi. Both raced with a special yellow livery on their Panigale V4 R machines as a tribute to Ducati's heritage. Behind them, on the bottom step of the podium, was Toprak Razgatlioglu (Pata Yamaha Prometeon WorldSBK). The manufacturer from Borgo Panigale also won in WorldSSP: sixth victory of the year for Nicolò Bulega (Aruba Racing WorldSSP Team) who dominated the race from flag to flag, finishing ahead of Stefano Manzi (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) and another Ducati rider, Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing Team). In WorldSSP300 it was the first victory ever for Bruno Ieraci (ProDina Kawasaki Racing) who took won ahead of Mirko Gennai (Team BrCorse), second, and Humberto Maier (Yamaha MS Racing/AD78 Latin America Team), third across the line.

Record tyre performance!

“On the first day of racing at the Misano circuit, tyre choice was just about unanimous. In fact, with these temperatures, in Superbike the SCX B0800 development rear and the SC1 front are undoubtedly the best options, but we should point out that even those who opted for the standard SCX rear, like Razgatlioglu, were not penalised in the least since the two solutions are rather similar in terms of performance. Furthermore, performance for all the tyres was extremely consistent from start to finish and the riders were able to push to the limit all the way to the final corner. The new track record, set in Superpole by Bautista with the new SCQ, is simply the cherry on top that this new extra soft tyre has brought us. In Supersport, the SCX rear and the SC1 front were also the winning combination and the most used by the riders. We saw some great races! Congratulations to Ducati and their riders for the results achieved on this first day.”

  • Third pole position of the year and his career ninth for Álvaro Bautista (Aruba.It Racing – Ducati) who also set the new track lap record with a time of 1’33.017, clinching the top spot on the grid before he crashed out at turn 8 on the following lap. To do their best times, all the riders used the new extra soft SCQ rear tyre which guaranteed outstanding performance. As for the front, the riders used the standard SC1. Qualifiers were held in the sun and with asphalt temperatures close to 40°C.
  • On the grid for Race 1, most of the riders used the SCX development solution in B0800 specification at the rear and the standard SC2 at the front, although a few, such as Toprak Razgatlioglu, preferred the standard SCX at the rear. Some of the riders put the new SC0 development solution on the front.
  • The race was dominated by the Ducati riders who took home a nice one-two on the Misano circuit. Bautista, starting from pole position, remained in the lead from start to finish, taking teammate Rinaldi with him who, after starting third, managed to overtake Razgatlioglu early in the race on the first lap.
  • For the fourth time this season, Nicolò Bulega (Aruba Racing WorldSSP Team) started from the top spot on the grid after earning pole position with a record time of 1’36.495. The session was held with asphalt temperatures close to 40°C. All the riders used the standard SCX tyre at the rear.
  • In WorldSSP Race 1, given the rather high asphalt temperatures, all the riders chose to start with the softest rear solution, namely the SCX. At the front, most opted for the standard SC1 in the 120/70 size, but there was no lack of riders who preferred instead the larger 125/70 SC1 tyre. Nicolò Bulega (Aruba Racing WorldSSP Team) took the win, finishing ahead of Stefano Manzi (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) and Ducati rider Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing Team).

More details on the tyres used in the race are available on the technical sheets attached to this release.